Hot New Things

Post-LFW follow-up with Charlotte Taylor

leave a comment »

Our first post-London Fashion Week follow-up is with Charlotte Taylor, who launched her label at the Vauxhall Fashion Scout exhibition.

Hot New Things: How did the week go for you? Did it live up to expectations?

Charlotte Taylor: I really enjoyed the experience and I think it was a great start for the label. I couldn’t have asked for more really so I was really happy on the whole.

HNT: How were VFS to work with? Would you exhibit with them again?

CT: I would love to work with VFS again but obviously it depends on a few things and whether they want me or not. Next time, I would like to develop slightly on what I did this season. It would be great for the label to do a show of some sort or a presentation. It’s good to keep it fresh and new.

HNT: You mentioned on your blog that you’ve been to show your collection to a department store and to one of Vogue’s magazine, and taken a break to go skiing. What else have you been up to?

CT: It is a mixture of me approaching people, contacts and the exposure from LFW. You have to be proactive and unique and grab peoples attention for all the right reasons. I have had interest from a few buyers and press. I’ll release details of confirmed stockists and press as and when on my blog.

HNT: And you’re planning to launch a website for the label?

CT: Yep but it’s in its infancy at the moment – I’m not rushing with it. I’m planning to have an e-commerce section even if it is just for the smaller items. I’ll know a lot more in the next month or so.

HNT: In general, are things going as you expected when you decided to launch your own label?

CT: I was massively in the unknown but I guess nothing has gone too bad so far. I love a challenge, though, so I thrive on the unexpected hurdles, they make it more interesting. You never know what’s around the corner  and I have a great network or friends and family supporting me so I know they have my back if something goes terribly wrong.

HNT: So what’s next?

CT: I’m off to Costa Rica on an adventure challenge for a couple of weeks at the end of April. I have said to myself that officially I will start on the new collection when I get back from that as it will be such an incredible experience it will undoubtedly change my inspirations and influences on the collection. I have already started on research, I started months ago, you get over excited and I can’t stop myself!

We’ll try to catch up with Charlotte again later in the year when she’s back from her travels. In the meantime, you can stay up to date with Charlotte via her blog – http://charlotte-taylor.blogspot.com/

Written by Myles

March 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Posted in Charlotte Taylor

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

